Diabulus in Musica – Argia

Diabulus in Musica are a Spanish 5 piece, playing female fronted symphonic metal, in the vein of Epica.  Their new album Argia is a gem of an album, with excellent symphonic sections reminiscent of film scores, with a slight exotic feel to them, a brilliant vocalist in Zuberoa Aznárez, and a powerfully heavy riff driven sound.

Zuberoa Aznárez is a really fantastic vocalist, alternating between English and her native Spanish, she has a really varied approach. With really pretty sounding clean vocals similar to Liv Kristine, to powerful high operatic vocals ala Simone Simons, her voice fits somewhere in the middle of these two renowned vocalists, while at points there are even some deeper vocalisations reminiscent of the incredible Lisa Gerrard, especially in the interlude “Sed Diabolus”. Her voice is often the driving force behind the brilliant music here, used to full effect in every track from the outset, especially beautiful in the tracks where she sings in Spanish, while keyboardist Gorka Elsa contributes some ferocious growls throughout the album, accentuating the heavy edge of the music. The heaviness comes from the guitar playing, which is often crisp and heavy, playing galloping riffs coming courtesy of the band’s new guitarist Alexey Kolygin, pounding along brilliantly in the vein of early After forever, in addition to heavy chugging sections. Solos throughout the album are pretty sporadic, but when they do surface, they’re brilliant and powerful, especially on “Eternal Breeze” and “Furia De Libertad”, and there’s even some acoustic guitar playing in the outro of “Maitagarri” which goes down really well. The drums are heavy and pounding throughout the album, crashing along with great energy, but the bass is unfortunately non-existent, nigh impossible to hear, but with the guitar playing being so rhythmic and pounding, it’s barely missed. The symphonic sections of the album are great, with choirs used excellently and often, adding a feeling of refinement to the music, while the symphonic instrumentation is excellent, especially on the brilliant “Furia De Libertad”, one of the best tracks on the release, with powerful brass sections giving the track an absolutely epic feel, while the melodic keyboards work really well on the fantastically heavy “Spoilt Vampire”, a track with fantastic growls, while “Maitagarri” is injected the track with a real energy and vigour thanks to somewhat exotic sounding string sections. This exotic sound gives the band’s music a somewhat unique sound within the symphonic metal niche, even while the influence from Epica and After Forever is certainly pronounced. The symphonic elements are reminiscent of film scores in some places, which just add’s to the powerful sound of the album. The epic symphonic elements meld excellently with the pounding heavy metal sound, giving Argia a powerful sound throughout.

PromoImage (2)

Guest vocals are also present too, with Sirenia’s Ailyn giving an appearance on “Furia De Libertad”, while the male cleans on “Encounter at Chrono’s Maze” come courtesy of Therion’s Thomas Vikstrom. Ailyn’s voice doesn’t sound too different to Zuberoa’s, so it doesn’t really add a whole lot, but the male vocals do give the album a nice bit of variety and are really welcomed, Thomas’s voice being very deep and rich, adding to the band’s powerful atmosphere, while Zuberoa is at her operatic best here, the duet is really great, and with the growls getting in on the mix too, it’s a varied and excellent track.

One drawback of the album is that the guitar work is sometimes dull and uninspired, with Alexey chugging on the same power chord for the duration of a song, and it gets old fast, particularly on “Inner Force”, and despite some cheesy keyboards at the beginning, it’s an otherwise brilliant track, with Zuberoa really shining with her vocal performance here. But for the most part the guitar playing is really great, with the aforementioned pounding riffs going down in great fashion.

PromoImage (3)

Overall Argia a really great symphonic metal album, with a powerful epic sound throughout, and is sure to please fans of bands on the heavier spectrum of symphonic metal, such as Mayan, Epica, Therion and After Forever. There are those few flaws as previously mentioned with the uninspired guitar, and cheesy keyboards, but it’s a solid effort nonetheless. Highlights of the album are: From the Embers, Furia De Libertad, Maitagarri, Eternal Breeze and Spoilt Vampire, but in truth they’re all good.

1. Et Resurrexit (Libera Me)
2. From the Embers
3. Inner Force
4. Furia de Libertad (feat. Ailyn Giménez)
5. Maitagarri
6. Sed Diabolus
7. Spoilt Vampire
8. Eternal Breeze
9. Mechanical Ethos
10. Encounter at Chronos’ Maze (feat. Thomas Vikström)
11. Indigo
12. Healing
13. Horizons

Argia is released 11 April 2014 on Napalm Records.

Listen to Inner Force:

Diabulus in Musica on Facebook


3 thoughts on “Diabulus in Musica – Argia

  1. Pingback: Interview with Zuberoa Aznárez (Diabulus in Musica) | swirls of noise

  2. Pingback: Top fifty releases of 2014′s first half – January to June | swirls of noise

  3. Pingback: Top 75 – best releases of 2014 | swirls of noise

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s